Skip to main content

No, there's not going to be a coup on "old inauguration day" either

 Hi, Joe

Wondering if you're aware of the claim going around now that the Capitol breach on the 6th was merely a warmup, a test of the security in place, or a distraction by Trump supporters to lower everyone else's guard for the REAL coup and installation of Trump on what used to be inauguration day. I'm not sure I have all the details or characterizations correct. I heard it from a friend in passing, and I probably won't look into it more because just the part I heard made my head hurt.

Help me, Joe. Help me understand this delusion that's gripped so many people on the right. Do you believe there's going to be such a coup? I'm 100% certain no such thing is going to take place, and I'm having a really hard time grasping why anyone would think it's going to happen, especially after years of repeated claims that this or that takedown was imminent. I know I posted about it mockingly several times, but can you blame me? I lost count of how many times QAnon folks I know posted about getting their popcorn ready to "enjoy the show." There was never a show, Joe. I have yet to see a show.

I'm still waiting for those scenes of "Luciferian" Democrats being hauled off in handcuffs to be strung up at Gitmo. I'm still waiting for all those *sealed indictments* to lead to something shocking. When are those tribunals happening?? I'm still waiting for JFK, Jr. to reveal himself and take his rightful place in government. I was told that was going to happen on the 4th of July. Three years ago. And then again two years ago. I was promised a show, Joe. I was told I should trust The Plan. Please tell me what that means and why discussions about it continued to be an obsession despite the fact that predicted events never, ever materialized.

I think this is the crux of where you and I had our breakdown. You know the old saying, fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me. I may have let myself be fooled more than once, but I'm not about to get taken repeatedly and still show up for more of the same nonsense. I just couldn't continue to watch you, as one of my oldest friends, hang in there with the lie peddlers and not say anything. When I saw your post claiming Pelosi hadn't been seen because she was taken into custody, when she was very clearly walking around and doing business as usual, I couldn't contain myself. Can you really blame me? It was right on the heels of those claims you were posting about Wayfair trafficking kids under the guise of selling cabinets.

Every other week, it was something. Some 'fishy' bit being circulated in the form of memes that came to nothing whatsoever. The only thing that was actually fishy was the regularity with which these rumors popped up and the fact that they always seemed to originate with a handful of FB accounts that looked in no way legit and were basically meme factories cranking out misinformation. If people who took to calling themselves researchers actually wanted to do something that mattered, they should have put their self-touted skills to work investigating the source of those memes and who was actually behind those accounts.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

White people feel like they shouldn't have to pay a price for their crimes

 And are always about letting one another get off scot free unless they're if a different political persuasion. For instance, you think you and those alongside you don't deserve hard punishment even though you traumatized, injured, and killed people and invaded a federal building and elected representatives because you were fighting for a 'noble' and urgent cause, but you want people of color punished for lesser crimes even though they believe their cause is just as noble and urgent. It has always been that way. White people have always characterized black people as violent or criminals but excuse themselves for the propensity for not just violence but for subjugation entire races, cultures, and countries and committing crimes against humanity worldwide. They are the school shooters, the serial killers, the bombers of public spaces,the harmers of masses of innocent people just to make a statement. That's as white as white can be. Anything white people do is okay, an...

We seem to be having a crisis of discernment

 Wherein people are having great difficulty assessing situations in and determining what's true, what's false, what's being overblown, what's urgent, what no longer matters, what's no longer working...etc., etc.  We don't know what's going on. The problem is that absent that kind of surety, people are grasping, making things up, believing things that are unsupported or unreasonable just because their psyche requires SOMETHING, anything. It's a mental health crisis.